New Music Friday: Olivia Rodrigo releases debut album ‘Sour’; Twenty One Pilots also drop Scaled and Icy Album

The excitement level for music lovers this week has to be at its very peak as we get not just new music but albums from Olivia Rodrigo and the pop duo, Twenty One Pilots. It’s the former’s debut, however, Twenty-One Pilots are releasing their 6th studio album.

Olivia Rodrigo broke onto the scene musically recently with her debut single Driver’s License receiving critical acclaim, and how she went from the Disney+ show ‘High School Musical: The Musical: The Series’ to an extremely successful music star in little over 6 months is marveling.

Read more: Justin Bieber nails eight No. 1 song on Pop Airplay Chart with ‘Peaches’

The 18-year-old singer and songwriter absolutely took off like a rocket and has reached the first pedestal of her career with her debut body of work, Sour.

Olivia Rodrigo’s 11-track debut piece, Sour, was born out of heartbreak. I mean, if you listen to the lyrics from the songs, it’s pretty clear what the theme of the album is.

Her viral hit song “Driver’s License” was revealed to be about Joshua Basset who was Olivia’s co-star on the Disney show. Joshua was linked to another Disney star apparently which inspired the song.

Sour’s central theme is connected to the matter of a failed romance but you can also tell it’s not all that deep. She’s just trying to have fun. And what better way to have fun than having her idol, Taylor Swift, score a writing credit on her debut album.

Check out the tracklist to ‘Sour’ below

1. brutal

2. traitor

3. drivers license

4. 1 step forward, 3 steps back

5. deja vu

6. good 4 u

7. enough for you

8. happier

9. jealousy, jealousy

10. favorite crime

11. hope ur ok

Not only did Olivia live her heartbreak on “Sour”, she also seemed to have embraced her mess and that’s probably germane to the success of her earlier singles, “Drivers Licence”, “Deja Vu”, and “Good 4 U”.


Twenty One Pilots – Scaled and Icy Album

Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun also known as the pop duo, Twenty One Pilots released their highly anticipated sixth studio album, Scaled and Icy on 21 May 2021 and if there’s any noticeable fix, it’s that the boys have perfected the art of combining edgy lyrics with sanguine tune for optimal emotional collision.

The album, “Scaled and Icy”, was written during the lockdown caused by the pandemic but this duo had a fascinating picture in mind for the project. Why allow the setback of the pandemic disembowel you emotionally right?

Instead, Tyler Joseph, who described the new tunes they created on “Scaled and Icy” as “shiny and colourful” decided to drift slightly away from what they are pretty much known for and make music that’s more playful than anything they have ever made.

First, it was ‘Shy Away’.

Then it was ‘Choker’.

These two opening tracks leading to the album’s release offers optimism for what’s to come despite the setback of the previous year.

Twenty One Pilots offers direct encouragement on “Scaled and Icy” as opposed to sharing experiences like they are known for on previous albums.

The band might have made a name for themselves in music by making songs about anxiety, depression, fear and loneliness, however, this new body of work offers much more.


Update your playlist with these new releases

    1. Lil Nas X – Sun Goes Down STREAM HERE
    2. A Boogie – 24 Hours ft Lil Durk STREAM HERE
    3. Polo G – Gang Gang ft Lil Wayne STREAM HERE
    4. Zara Larson – Poster Girl Album Summer Edition STREAM HERE
    5. Birdman – Stunna Man ft Lil Wayne, Roddy Rich STREAM HERE
    6. Young MA – Off The Yak Album STREAM HERE
    7. Mike Posner – Jealousy ft Blackbear STREAM HERE
    8. Bobby Sessions – Gold Rolex ft Benny The Butcher, Freddie Gibbs STREAM HERE
    9. 42 Dugg – Free Dem Boyz Album STREAM HERE
    10. Sean Kingston – Darkest Time STREAM HERE

Also read: Rock band Coldplay plans to live stream TikTok concert for their fans

Photo of author

About The Author


12 thoughts on “New Music Friday: Olivia Rodrigo releases debut album ‘Sour’; Twenty One Pilots also drop Scaled and Icy Album”

  1. Pingback: find here
  2. Pingback: youtube mp3
  3. Pingback: sbobet
  4. Pingback: sportsbet

Leave a Comment


SidomexEntertainment is your one-stop-shop for news, entertainment, fashion, music, sports and lifestyle. We provide you with the latest breaking news and videos straight from the entertainment industry.

Follow Us
%d bloggers like this: