2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Is Now Open For Submission.



The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an award given for the best unpublished short story that has a minimum of 2,000 words and a maximum of 5,000 words.


The prize was set up in 2012 to inspire, develop and connect writers and storytellers across the Commonwealth; it was the replacement for the Commonwealth Short Story Competition that was discontinued in 2011.


Read Also: Read These Five Books.


This prize is open to everyone and is free; the stories are to be written in English but can be translated from other languages. The overall winner receives a sum of 5,000 Pounds and the regional winner receives 2,000 Pounds.



The Past Overall Winners Are:


2012: Emma Martin for Two Girls in a Boat. (Pacific)


2013: Eliza Robertson for We Walked On Water. (Canada and Europe)

Sharon Millar for the Whale House. (Caribbean)


2014: Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi for Let’s Tell This Story Properly. (Africa)


2015: Jonathan Tel for the Human Photograph. (Canada and Europe)


2016: Parashar Kulkarni for Cow and Company. (Asia)


2017: Ingrid Persaud for The Sweet Sop. (Caribbean)


visit www.commonwealthwriters.org

Photo of author

About The Author


Obinna is a fiction writer from Lagos, Nigeria, and grew up loving comic book characters and superheroes. He watches lots of action films and writes entertainment and technology articles. He is also interested in science and how things work.

10 thoughts on “2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Is Now Open For Submission.”

  1. Pingback: game sex
  2. Pingback: ufabtb
  3. Pingback: ??? ??
  4. Pingback: ????
  5. Pingback: Moneros Anleitung
  6. Pingback: sbobet

Leave a Comment


SidomexEntertainment is your one-stop-shop for news, entertainment, fashion, music, sports and lifestyle. We provide you with the latest breaking news and videos straight from the entertainment industry.

Follow Us
%d bloggers like this: